2016 R5 What engine?

whywait
Ensign
Ensign

2016 R5 What engine?

Post by whywait »

Hi all, newbie here. Got into boating a year ago with a Sting ray. Pulling the trigger on our dream boat 2016 R5. My dealer says the Volvo Penta v-8 300- G DP has plenty of power. We will be cruising the Merrimac River to Newburyport harbor and out close to shore. Will often have eight to ten adults on board. We also will trailer to Lake Winnipesakee for two weeks this summer. We have some rather large young adults wanting to water ski. My question, is this engine powerful enough? All the reviews on line test the boat with the 380 engine. Is it worth the extra money for the 350 or 380 ? Don't want to waste money but don't want any regrets either.
jhnmdahl
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral

Re: 2016 R5 What engine?

Post by jhnmdahl »

I think a big reason you see most configured with the 380 is that the 300 and 350 are likely based on a new 5.3L block (with variable valve timing, direct injection, and some other new features), while the 380 and 430 are likely still based on the older 6L block. The duo prop 300 is likely enough to pull a skier up fine (the skier won't affect a boat this size and weight very much), and I don't think you'll gain a lot in torque by moving from the 300 to the 350 using the same engine block. My inclination would be to move up from the 300 to the 380 If you want more top-end speed or want to get a skier up faster. Note the super-quick 2.6 second time to plane that the V8-300 has in a Cobalt 232 at http://boattest.com/engine-review/Volvo ... 8-300_2016, and with the improved technology in the V8-300 that would probably be my engine of choice.

In short, I think you'll likely have enough to tow a skier with the 300 duo prop, but they will get up more quickly and you'll have another 5-10 mph on the top end with the 380, but at the expense of fuel economy.