R3, 242, or Regal 2300 XR

(R3, R5, R7, R30, R35)
kwsbrother
Lieutenant
Lieutenant

R3, 242, or Regal 2300 XR

Post by kwsbrother »

Hi! I'm looking to get out of my fishing boat and possibly join the ranks of this group. I've been researching for 3-4 months and I have decided I will only move forward with purchasing a Cobalt or Regal. This would only be my second boat, but I've been around pontoons and fishing boats all my life. Life circumstances have changed and those style of boats just don't work any longer.

I'm here to get insight from the veterans regarding some boats I've found. Here they are:

I have found 3 used boats (2 Cobalts & 1 Regal) all within 30 minutes to 2 hours from me that I'm seriously considering and wanted to hear input/opinions from this group. Numbers wise, the boats are all very similar to one another:

The boats are a 2012 Cobalt 242, 2016 Cobalt R3, and 2015 Regal 2300 XR. That puts me squarely in the 23-24' range. I've had contact with the sellers of the 242 and 2300 XR. I recently found the R3 and have reached out, but haven't gotten a response yet.

The engines are all Volvo DPs ranging from 300-320 hp and ranging from 77-105 engine hours. The prices from lowest to highest are only a $8k spread (242 & 2300 RX are the same price). All three boats appear very well maintained inside and out with the 242 only showing a little sun fading of the aft lounge seating vinyl. All three have the forward facing folding arch wakeboard tower with bimini top, but the 2300 RX includes wake board racks.

The rated passenger capacity of all 3 also isn't so much of a concern since I would only likely have 6-8 people, at a maximum. It'd likely be 2-5 people on average. The Regal is rated at 10 people, 242 at 12-13 people, and the R3 at 12 people.

The difference are as follows: